About Us / Membership

Our collection of stolen covers

The Center for International Maritime Security (CIMSEC) is a non-partisan think tank incorporated as a non-profit in the state of Maryland. It was formed in 2012 and as of 2014 has members and chapters in more than 28 countries. CIMSEC does not take organizational positions and encourages a diversity of views in the belief that a broad range of perspectives strengthens our understanding of the challenges and opportunities in the maritime domain.  

Mission:

To build a global community of professionals, academics, and forward thinkers from a variety of fields who wish to further international maritime peace and security through an exchange of ideas and the rigor of critical thought and writing.

CIMSEC pursues this mission through internet forums, collaborating with similarly motivated organizations, sponsoring and hosting events, developing publications, and connecting individuals.

Check out the NextWar blog to join the discussion. We are currently accepting membership applications here.

The opinions and views expressed on this website are those of the authors alone and are presented in their personal capacity. They do not necessarily represent the views of their parent institution U.S. Department of Defense, the U.S. Navy, any other agency, or any other foreign government.


CIMSEC’s Organizational Structure: Revised Flowchart

CIMSEC 2014-15 Officers
Name Position Email
Scott Cheney-Peters Chairman and President director@cimsec.org
Chris Rawley Vice President vp@cimsec.org
Emil Maine Director of External Relations extrelations@cimsec.org
Matt Hipple Director of Online Content nextwar@cimsec.org
Paul Pryce Director of Social Media social@cimsec.org
Matt Merighi Director of Membership membership@cimsec.org
Bret Perry Treasurer treasurer@cimsec.org
Mike Carroll Secretary secretary@cimsec.org
James Bridger Director of Publications publications@cimsec.org
Will Yale Director of Operations operations@cimsec.org
Raymond Pritchett CIMSEC Historian galrahn@yahoo.com

Associate Editors:

Jillian McGhan
Christopher Stockdale-Garbutt

Fostering the Discussion on Securing the Seas. Home of the NextWar Blog